PhD in Social Work

UNINE_FSE_itts_doctorants2022.jpg

  • One of a kind programme in Switzerland
  • Open to students with a master degree in Social Work from a Swiss university of Applied Sciences or a master degree in Social Sciences, Law or Economics from a Swiss university

Presentation

In partnership with the Universities of Applied Sciences and Arts (HES) this programme: 

  • Contributes to the interdisciplinary study of social problems, their developments and dynamics. 
  • Focuses on affected individuals, families, groups and communities and provides knowledge about their experiences, their constructions of meaning and their ways of dealing with disadvantage and exclusion. 
  • Engages in analysis and reflection on social action and creates - through evaluation and systematic intervention research - a scientific basis for evidence-based professional intervention and the development and innovation of social work offerings. 
  • Produces knowledge about social work organisations and contextualises them within the landscape of available services and in relation to the social security system. 

Registration as doctoral candidate in Social Work

Procedure

  1. The doctoral candidate contacts ITTS management (Prof. Barbara Waldis) and sends his/her master's transcripts, his/her experience (courses, teaching, research projects, etc.) to be used for possible equivalences for 30 ECTS, a description of the thesis topic (one page maximum) as well as a potential indication of the choice of two thesis co-directors (UniNE + HES).
  2. He/she obtains a letter from the thesis co-directors confirming that they agree to supervise the thesis.
  3. The doctoral candidate sends to the Registration Office (Bureau des immatriculations) his/her registration file with the requested documents as mentioned on the page Registration and Conditions → Doctorate.
  4. The doctoral candidate commits to signing the doctoral charter with both thesis co-directors. A copy is sent to ITTS management.
  5. A pedagogical contract is established after discussion with ITTS management. The parties signing the contract are: the dean of the FSE, ITTS management and both thesis co-directors. This pedagogical contract is signed no later than September 1st.

PhD programme at the ITTS

Partnership

Universities of Applied Sciences and Arts (HES)

HES-SO

Doctorat en travail social

UNINE_FSE_itts_doctorants2022.jpg

  • Formation unique en Suisse
  • Ouverte aux étudiant-e-s titulaire d'un master HES en travail social ou d'un master universitaire suisse en sciences sociales, en droit ou en économie

Présentation

En partenariat avec les Hautes Ecoles Spécialisées (HES), cette formation :

  • Contribue à l'étude interdisciplinaire des problèmes sociaux, de leurs développements et de leurs dynamiques. 
  • Centre la focale sur les personnes, familles, groupes et communautés affectés et fournit des connaissances sur leur vécus, leurs constructions de sens et leurs manières de gérer les situations défavorables et d'exclusion. 
  • Engage une analyse et une réflexion sur l'action sociale et crée – par l'évaluation et la recherche d'intervention systématique – un ancrage scientifique pour une intervention professionnelle basée sur des preuves, et le développement et l'innovation des offres du travail social. 
  • Produit des connaissances sur les organisations du travail social et les contextualise dans le paysage des services disponibles et en lien avec le système de sécurité sociale. 

Immatriculation au doctorat en travail social

Marche à suivre

  1. Le/la candidat-e au doctorat prend contact avec la direction de l’ITTS (Prof. Barbara Waldis) et lui transmet les documents suivants : ses relevés de notes du master, les expériences (cours, enseignements, projets de recherches, etc.) à faire valoir pour des équivalences possibles sur les 30 ECTS, une description de la thématique de thèse (une page maximum) ainsi qu'une indication potentielle sur le choix des deux co-directeurs/directrices de thèse (UniNE + HES).
  2. Il/elle obtient un courrier des co-directeurs/directrices de thèse confirmant qu’ils/elles acceptent d’encadrer la thèse.
  3. Le/la candidat-e au doctorat transmet au Bureau des immatriculations son dossier d’admission avec les documents demandés sur la page Doctorat → Procédure d'inscription
  4. Le/la candidat-e au doctorat s’engage à signer la charte du doctorat avec les deux co-directeurs/directrices de thèse. Une copie est transmise à la direction de l’ITTS.
  5. Un contrat pédagogique est établi après discussion avec la direction de l’ITTS. Les signataires du contrat sont : le ou la doyen-ne de la FSE, la direction de l’ITTS et les deux co-directeurs/directrices de thèse. Ce contrat pédagogique est signé au plus tard le 1er septembre.