Scholarships and academic awards


Photo: © Guillaume Perret


There are several types of scholarships that can be granted to students:

  • Cantonal scholarships
  • Confederation scholarships
  • Deanship private scholarships and subsidies
  • Mobility scholarships: swissuniversities website

Further information: Social Office, Financial support (in French).

Academic scholarships

Prix Banques Neuchâteloises

The Association Cantonale des Banques Neuchâteloises (ACBN) provides a yearly excellence scholarship worth CHF 5'000.--. It aims to support a student of the Master of Science in Finance, especifically to help them carry out their Master thesis in Neuchâtel.

Laureates 2021: Christophe Hurter and Christophe Tatasciore.

Swiss Study Foundation

The Foundation encourages and awards scholarships to students and PhD students who are particularly talented and deserving. Its objective is to support young people who can and wish to take responsibilities in our society. The Swiss Study Foundation offers, among others, a wide range of complementary and interdisciplinary formations and an individual programme of encouragement as well as advice for personal projects. More information on the programme and the terms of admission on the Swiss Study Foundation website.

Academic awards

Prix Henri Grandjean

The prize is worth CHF 500.-- and is awarded for the best work on a political or social economy issue.

Laureates 2021: Alessio Lombini and David Zahnd.

Prix Guido Pult

The prize is worth CHF 1'000.-- and is awarded to the student who has obtained the best overall average during his or her Bachelor studies in Economics and Business, major in Economics.

Laureate 2021: Dayan Gualberti.

Prix de la Société Neuchâteloise des Sciences Economiques (SNSE)

The prize is worth CHF 1'000.-- and is awarded to the student who has obtained the best overall average during his or her Bachelor studies, all majors.

Laureate 2021: Lilian Fleury.

Prix ArcInfo

The prize, worth CHF 1'000.--, is awarded to the student of the Master in Journalism and Communication who, in the course of his or her Master degree, has produced an outstanding course and dissertation related to journalism and/or its management.

Laureates 2021: Cécile Détraz and Lucas Philippoz.

Prix May Roset-Reutter

Awarded every three years, this prize is intended to reward the best doctoral thesis, presented in economics, political and social sciences, of which the regulatory copies have been deposited in the three years preceding its delivery.

Prix interfacultaires

Prix académique interdisciplinaire du développement durable

The prize, worth CHF 2'500.--, is awarded to the best master thesis on a theme related to sustainable development.

​Laureate 2021: Nicola Francescutto.

Prix des sports

The prize worth CHF 500 -- Fond du recteur, is intended to reward a student or a team of students - or other persons connected with university sport. This award will be presented to the person or team who, through their results, skills, commitment and behaviour, has contributed to the propagation of a healthy and positive sporting ethic.

Prix Credit Suisse Award for best teaching

The Credit Suisse Foundation awards an annual prize of CHF 10'000.-- to a teacher in one of the faculties of the University of Neuchâtel who distinguishes himself/herself by the excellence of his/her commitment and the interest of his/her pedagogical vision.

Laureate 2020: Prof. Michele Bee.

Prix Nexans

The 2019 Nexans Prize is awarded to Sylvain Weber, post-doctoral researcher at the Institute of Economic Research of the University of Neuchâtel (IRENE) and a specialist in the fields of energy and labour economics.