Fermer
_fse_imi_choix.jpg

Research

The research activity is mainly focusing on two domains, namely knowledge representation and data mining.
  • In the domain of knowledge representation, a formal work on the trade-off between scalability and expressivity led to a first prototype implementation of a scalable knowledge representation system (PARKA), which was successfully used among others in medical information systems. Over the last years the research activity was oriented toward the possibility of using an ontological approach for modelling multi-dimensional data. Dynamic ontologies refer to the specification of a mechanism for managing reference ontologies and of a formal framework for learning ontology macros and ontology optimization. The projects in this domain conducted to the developement of KnOWLer, an ontology-based information management system targeting semantic integration into large-scale information systems, and of IKARO, a general-purpose formal system for repurposing ontologies. 
  • In the domain of data mining, the research activity primarily focused on two questions: firstly, how data mining algorithms can benefit from knowledge representation systems, and secondly, how the efficiency of existing systems can be improved. A first important contribution in this work consisted in the formalization and the implementation of a knowledge representation language that was scalable enough to be used in conjunction with data mining tools. A very efficient system based on a relational database system and a sophisticated query language was designed and implemented. The principal data mining tasks performed by the system were high level classification rule induction, indexing and grouping. A second contribution is a deep analyse of the criterion used during the construction of a decision tree, which conducted to a new family of split functions with better performance on large data sets than classical split functions.  And a third contribution consists in the formalization of a general framework for temporal data mining which also capture uncertainty aspects of knowledge.

The institute developed and strengthened a policy of collaboration with various institutions, either of type academic, economic or public administration. IMI participated in different CTI research projects of type public-private and initiated collaborative research projects with socio-economic partners: with Institute of Forensic Sciences Lausanne on domain-driven data mining, with Enterprise Institute Neuchâtel on qualitative data management, and with Karman Centre Bern on knowledge management in computer vision. The projects are largely funded by public entities (Swiss National Scientific Foundation, Commission for Technology and Innovation), as well as by private funds.

Fermer
_fse_imi_choix.jpg

Recherche

L'activité de recherche se concentre principalement sur deux domaines, à savoir la représentation des connaissances et  les fouilles de données.

  • Dans le domaine de la représentation des connaissances, une analyse formelle sur le lien entre l'extensibilité et l'expressivité a conduit à une première implémentation du prototype d'un système de représentation des connaissances évolutive (PARKA), qui a été utilisé avec succès entre autres dans les systèmes d'information médicale. Au cours des derniers années, l'activité de recherche a été orientée vers l'utilisation d'une approche ontologique pour la modélisation des données multidimensionnelles. Les ontologies dynamiques impliquent  la spécification d'un mécanisme de gestion des ontologies de référence et d'un cadre formel d'apprentissage des macros de l'ontologie et l'optimisation de l'ontologie. Les projets dans ce domaine ont conduit au développement du knOWLer, un système de gestion d'information axée sur l'ontologie qui utilise l'intégration sémantique dans des systèmes d'information à grande échelle, et du IKARO, un système formel pour la réorientation des ontologies.
  • Dans le domaine de fouilles  de données, l'activité de recherche se concentre principalement sur deux questions: i) comment les algorithmes d'exploration de données peuvent bénéficier de systèmes de représentation des connaissances, et ii) comment l'efficacité des systèmes existants peut être améliorée. Une première contribution dans ce travail s'est concrétisé  dans la formalisation et l'implémentation d'un langage de représentation des connaissances assez adaptable pour être utilisée avec les outils d'extraction de données. Un système très efficace, utilisant une base de données relationnelle et un langage de requête sophistiqué a été conçu et implémenté. L'analyse principale effectuée par le système étaient l'extraction, l'indexation et le regroupement des règles de classification de haut niveau. Une deuxième contribution est une analyse approfondi des critères utilisés pendant la construction d'un arbre de décision, qui a conduit à une nouvelle famille de fonctions de split avec des meilleures performances sur les grands ensembles de données que les fonctions classiques. Et une troisième contribution consiste dans la formalisation d'un cadre général pour l'exploration de données temporelles qui capture également les aspects de l'incertitude des connaissances.

L'Institut a développé et renforcé une politique de collaboration avec diverses institutions, soit universitaires, économiques ou publiques. IMI a participé dans des divers projets de recherche CTI de type public-privé et a lancé des projets de recherche en collaboration avec des partenaires socio-économiques : avec l'Institut de la Police Scientifique Lausanne, sur l'extraction dirigé de données, avec l'Institut de l'Entreprise Neuchâtel sur la gestion des données qualitatives et avec le Centre Karman de Berne sur la gestion des connaissances dans la reproduction graphique par ordinateur. Les projets sont financés en grande partie par des entités publiques (Fonds National Suisse, Commission pour la Technologie et l'Innovation), ainsi que par des fonds privés.