Fermer

Mission statement

Speaking several foreign languages has now become essential with the increase of academic mobility over the last ten years. Even at the University of Neuchâtel, classes in some Master’s curricula are now taught in English. Moreover, a large number of students have the opportunity to spend a year or a semester abroad. The most common destinations are Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom, followed by France and Italy. Finally, researchers and professors have to publish and present their findings in English or German at international and national conferences or within national research projects.

As stated in the Plan of Intent 2013-2016 of the University of Neuchâtel (p. III), one of the missions of the university is to allow students to be better prepared for a professional career after their studies, to make them more “employable”. In Switzerland, speaking German – as well as understanding Swiss German – and English is crucial in many professional fields and the linguistic knowledge acquired in college is usually not good enough.

Nowadays, learning new languages is part of lifelong learning, starting in school and then expanding in the course of one’s studies or professional life. The courses and activities offered by an academic language centre should include this framework and provide useful services to the academic community.

Created in August 2013, the Language Centre of the University of Neuchâtel will develop in three main directions:

  • Teaching of foreign languages with semester courses and intensive courses during the spring and autumn breaks;
  • Help and support learner’s autonomy with the creation of a multimedia self-access learning centre (Espace Multimédia d’Auto-apprentissage = E.M.A.) and by providing different kinds of activities like tutorials, workshops and tandem programmes.
  • Translation of academic articles and presentations in English, French and German, as well as linguistic coaching for applications and international conferences in English, French and German.
     

Affiliations

  • Cercles.PNG

    Cercles

    Confédération Européenne des Centre de Langues de l'Enseignement Supérieur

CdL calendar

Calendrier CDL 2020-2021.pdf (123.73 KB)

Picture gallery

Summer Tandem

Fermer

Mission

La mobilité accrue au sein du monde universitaire depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années rend indispensable la maîtrise de plusieurs langues. Certain-e-s étudiant-e-s suivent à l’UniNE une partie de leur cursus en anglais, en particulier au niveau du Master. De plus, un grand nombre d’étudiant-e-s passent un semestre ou une année à l’étranger. Les destinations les plus prisées sont l’Allemagne, l’Espagne et le Royaume-Uni, suivi de la France et de l’Italie. Enfin, les chercheur-e-s et les professeur-e-s de l’Alma mater sont appelé-e-s à publier et à présenter leurs recherches en anglais dans le cadre de conférences internationale et en allemand dans le contexte de rassemblements ou de programmes de recherche nationaux.

Comme le souligne le Plan d’intentions 2013-2016 de l’Université de Neuchâtel (p. III), une des missions de l’université est de permettre aux étudiant-e-s de se préparer au mieux à la vie active après leurs études, en somme de leur offrir une bonne «employabilité». En Suisse, la maîtrise de l’allemand – tout comme la maîtrise passive du suisse allemand – et de l’anglais est essentielle dans bien des domaines professionnels et les compétences acquises au lycée ne suffisent le plus souvent pas.

En fait, l'acquisition de nouvelles langues se conçoit aujourd'hui comme un processus ininterrompu, débutant dans le cadre scolaire mais se poursuivant autant lors des études que de la vie professionnelle. L’offre d’un Centre de langues (CdL) universitaire doit prendre en compte ces différents paramètres et offrir ses services à la communauté universitaire au sens large.

Créé en août 2013, le CdL de l’UniNE développera son offre autour de trois pôles principaux :

  • L'enseignement. des langues étrangères par des cours semestriels et des cours intensifs.
  • L'aide et le soutien à l’apprentissage en autonomie grâce à la création de l’Espace Multimédia d’Auto-apprentissage (E.M.A.) mais aussi la mise en place de programmes de tandems bilingues et monolingues, l’offre d’heures de tutorat et la tenue de workshops ; et finalement,
  • Un service de traduction d’articles et de présentations scientifiques, ainsi que de coaching linguistique pour les postulations et les conférences internationales.

Affiliations

  • Cercles.PNG

    Cercles

    Confédération Européenne des Centre de Langues de l'Enseignement Supérieur

Calendrier du CdL

Calendrier 2017 (38.79 KB)
Calendrier 2018 (38.74 KB)

Galerie photos

Tandem été