Key members:  Quantum Flagship Logo

macqsimal_logo.pngMacQsimal will design, develop, miniaturize and integrate advanced quantum-enabled sensors with outstanding sensitivity, to measure physical observables in five key areas: magnetic fields, time, rotation, electro-magnetic radiation and gas concentration. The common core technology platform for these diverse sensors is formed by atomic vapor cells realised as integrated microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) fabricated at the wafer level. The objectives of macQsimal are to develop five different types of miniaturized sensors: optically pumped magnetometers, atomic clocks, atomic gyroscopes, atomic GHz/THz sensors and imagers, and lastly, Rydberg-based gas sensors. It is the ultimate goal of macQsimal to develop scientific breakthroughs for atomic quantum metrology and sensing which will establish European leadership in the industry and drive excellence in quantum technologies in line with the strategic objectives of the FET Quantum Flagship.

MacQsimal is carried out by a consortium of 14 partner institutions from 7 countries and is coordinated by CSEM.

Within macQsimal, the LTF team will mainly contribute to the development of innovative approaches towards future miniature atomic clocks employing advanced quantum interrogation schemes for enhanced clock performances. For this purpose, the LTF team will closely collaborate with the groups of Prof. J. Reichel and Prof. A. Sinatra at Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, Sorbonne Université, for the development of such schemes suitable for miniature atomic clocks. LTF will further contribute to the development and evaluation of alkali vapour-cells as a core technology for all macQsimal developments, including atomic clocks and gyroscopes.


Left-hand side: micro-fabricated Rubidium vapour cell on top of a 1€-cent coin. (courtesy: EPFL-SAMLAB & LTF). Right-hand side: simulated Ramsey fringes for a micro-fabricated cell.


More information:


EU_flagThis project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 820393.