Fermer

MICMAC

Microbes for Archaelogical wood Conservation

This project focuses on innovative biological methods of extraction for the preservation of waterlogged wood.

Wood artefacts encounter serious problems when excavated. In fact, sulfur and iron species formed during burial are unstable once exposed to oxygen, leading to salt precipitation and acidification. These alterations are unfortunately often observed after objects are consolidated and dried. In response, chemical extraction or neutralization processes are applied but their efficiency is limited to the wood surface.

The project propose here to exploit the unique properties of some bacteria for anticipating the extraction of iron and sulfur compounds when wood is still wet. This would be the first time biotechnology is addressing the issue of salt precipitation and acidification on waterlogged wood. To this purpose, two different strategies will be adopted: 1) oxidation of sulfur species and 2) complexation of iron species. Exploring biomineralizing capacities of bacteria presents an outstanding interest for developing advanced conservation technologies with no side-effect on health and environment compared to the traditional methods. A preliminary study realized at the University of Neuchâtel have shown promising results :

Photo 

Evaluation of oxidation states of the species present in waterlogged wood impregnated in a solution containing Fe2+ and S2- (pink: sulfate, blue: sulfur). Top: control sample, bottom: sample after bacterial treatment

 

The microbial mechanisms involved will first be deeply investigated over sulfur- and iron-rich phases. Then, a synergetic microbial co-culture will be specially designed and applied in accordance to conservation ethics. Hence, an innovative conservation methodology will be developed and finally assessed on model wood samples artificially degraded. Particular attention will be devoted to the efficiency and the impact on wood structure of the proposed treatment.

Based on the results achieved, I will thus propose a breakthrough innovation and eco-friendly strategy for the conservation of wooden artefacts after excavation. A real progress is expected in terms of stability, effectiveness, and decreased toxicity. Hence, this project represents a pioneer and inventive research for the conservation-restoration of waterlogged wood.

This is a pioneer and innovative project in the field of waterlogged wood conservation and preservation.

Other institutes involved in the project :

  • Laboratory LAMUN
  • Haute Ecole Arc Conservation-Restauration , University of applied sciences Western Switzerland
  • HEIA-FR (Haute Ecole d’Ingénieurie et d’Architecture de Fribourg), Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Laboratoire Arc’Antique, Nantes, France
  • Archaeological park and museum Laténium
  • Archaeological service of the canton Bern

Contacts

Edith Joseph, professeure assistante

 

Magdalena Albelda-Berenguer, doctorante

 

Mathilde Monachon, doctorante

 

Lidia Mathys-Panaguzzi, laborantine

Fermer

MICMAC

Microbes for Archaelogical wood Conservation

Ce projet se focalise sur une méthode innovante et biologique d’extraction pour la préservation de bois gorgés d’eau.

Les objets en bois rencontrent de sérieux problèmes lors de leur excavation. En effet, le soufre et le fer forment durant la période d’enfouissement des composés instable en présence d’oxygène. Cela conduit à la précipitation de sels et une acidification du bois. Ces altérations ne sont visibles qu’une fois le bois consolidé et séché. Pour y remédier, des extractions chimiques ou des processus de neutralisation ont été mis en place, mais leur efficacité est limitée à la surface du bois.

Le projet propose d’utiliser les propriétés uniques de certaines bactéries afin d’anticiper l’extraction du fer et du soufre lorsque le bois est encore gorgé d’eau. Cela est la première fois qu’une méthode biologique est proposée pour le traitement des sels précipités et l’acidification des bois gorgés d’eau. Pour cela, deux stratégies différentes sont envisagées : 1) l’oxidation du soufre et 2) la complexation du fer. En observant les capacités de biominéralisation des bactéries, certaines sont intéressantes pour le développement de biotechnologies non dangereuses pour la santé ni l’environnement. Une étude préliminaire réalisée à l’Université de Neuchâtel donnait des résultats encourageants :

Evaluation des états d’oxydation des éléments présents dans des bois gorgés d’eau imprégnés dans une solution contenant Fe2+ et S2-(rose : sulfate ; bleu : soufre). Haut : échantillon contrôle. Bas : échantillon après traitement par une bactérie.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Evaluation des états d’oxydation des éléments présents dans des bois gorgés d’eau imprégnés dans une solution contenant Fe2+ et S2-(rose : sulfate ; bleu : soufre). Haut : échantillon contrôle. Bas : échantillon après traitement par une bactérie.

Les mécanismes microbiologiques mis en jeu seront d’abord étudiés avec minutie sur les phases riches en fer et en soufre. Puis, des cultures microbiologiques synergétiques seront choisies et appliquées tout en respectant la valeur esthétique de l’objet. De plus, une méthodologie de conservation sera développée puis essayée sur des échantillons modèles, artificiellement dégradés.

Une attention particulière sera portée sur l’efficacité et l’impact sur le bois du traitement.

En se basant sur les résultats, une méthode innovante et respectueuse de l’environnement pour la préservation des objets en bois après leur excavation sera établie. De nombreux progrès sont attendus concernant la stabilité, l’efficacité et la diminution de la toxicité de tels traitements.

Ce projet est créateur et pionnier dans le domaine de la conservation et restauration des bois gorgés d’eau.

 

Autres instituts intégrés au projet :

  • Laboratoire LAMUN
  • Haute Ecole Arc Conservation-Restauration , University of applied sciences Western Switzerland
  • HEIA-FR (Haute Ecole d’Ingénieurie et d’Architecture de Fribourg), Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Laboratoire Arc’Antique, Nantes, France
  • Archaeological park and museum Laténium

Contacts

Edith Joseph, professeure assistante

 

Magdalena Albelda-Berenguer, doctorante

 

Mathilde Monachon, doctorante

 

Lidia Mathys-Panaguzzi, laborantine