Mode of participation & Registration

Mode of participation

The involved institutions and research groups can choose between two modes of participation:

  • Full participation (students from UNINE): PhD students participate in the activities throughout their PhD and acquire the recommended ECTS points according to the rules defined (more information here)
  • Partial participation (students from UNIL, EAWAG, ETHZ and UNIBAS): PhD students only follow selected activities as they are registered in other programs at their home institution. They can use the acquired ECTS points towards their home institution program


Before applying to the PhD School Water Earth Systems Program, candidates must have themselves arranged for a research laboratory, thesis director, and be register at one of the following the universities :

  • University of Neuchâtel
  • University of Lausanne
  • University of Basel
  • ETHZ

The coordination office of the PhD School WES does not handle any matters concerning the registration with the University. This is an administrative matter which is handled by the University registration office.

To register for the Ph.D. School WES: please complete the registration form HERE (by registering you accept the guidelines of the Ph.D. School WES).