Fermer

Mark Szenteczki

PhD student

Research interests

I am broadly interested in the origins of biodiversity, and understanding how traits interact and contribute to the diversification of populations, species, and entire clades of organisms. My research spans all three levels, with projects focused on population-level adaptations, range-wide genetic diversity within species, and phylogenetic relationships among species. Using a combination of field collections and modern molecular methods (i.e. next-generation sequencing and bioinformatics), I aim to uncover the evolutionary and demographic histories of non-model organisms, and the molecular bases of local adaptations.

Main topics

Currently, I am studying the ecology and evolution of deceptive pollination via olfactory signaling, under an SNF research grant awarded to Nadir Alvarez and Sergio Rasmann. Many flowering plants rely on mutualistic relationships with animals, particularly insects, for pollination. However, some have developed deceptive pollination tactics – signaling rewards for pollinators without providing any. In many cases, these signals are cocktails of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) produced by the flowers.

The aim of my doctoral thesis is to understand how plant-insect interactions can shape adaptive variations in floral scent. We use Arum maculatum, which are deceptively pollinated by several species of Psychodid moth-flies, as our model for this work. My research focuses on connecting genetic polymorphisms in Arum maculatum to key phenotypes (e.g. odor), and their ultimate impacts on plant fitness. To accomplish these aims, we are combining leading-edge tools and techniques in:

  • Chemical Ecology
  • Molecular Ecology
  • Phylogenomics.

Ultimately, we hope this research will provide valuable insights into local adaptation, ecological and genetic differentiation, and speciation within deceptive pollination systems.

Teaching activities

  • From genes to ecosystems.

Publications

Szenteczki M, Pitteloud C, Casacci LP, Kešnerová L, Whitaker MRL, Engel P, Vila R, & Alvarez N. (2019) Bacterial communities within Phengaris (Maculineaalcon caterpillars are shifted following transition from solitary living to social parasitism of Myrmica ant colonies. Ecology and Evolution 9:4452–4464. PDF

arum.png

Mark Szenteczki

mark.szenteczki@unine.ch

D219

+ 41 32 718 23 16

Fermer

Mark Szenteczki

Doctorant

Domaines de recherche

Je suis principalement intéressé par les origines de la biodiversité et comment les traits interagissent et contribuent à la diversification des populations, espèces, et clades d’organismes. Mes recherches couvrent ces trois niveaux, avec des projets focalisés sur les adaptations au niveau des populations, la diversité génétique au sein des espèces, et les relations phylogénétiques entre les espèces. J'ai l'intention de retracer l’histoire évolutionniste et démographique d'organismes non modèles, et les bases moléculaires des adaptations locales, avec une combinaison de collection de terrains et de méthodes moléculaires (NGS et bioinformatique).

Thématiques principales

Actuellement, j'étudie l'écologie et l'évolution de la pollinisation déceptive, dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche FNS accordé à Nadir Alvarez et Sergio Rasmann. De nombreuses Angiospermes dépendent sur les relations mutualistes avec les animaux, en particulièrement les insectes, pour la pollinisation. Cependant, certaines fleurs ont développé des tactiques de pollinisation déceptive – elles signalent une récompense pour les pollinisateurs, sans en fournir. Dans de nombreux cas, ces signaux sont des cocktails de composés organiques volatils produits par les fleurs.

Le but de ma thèse de doctorat est de comprendre comment les interactions plantes-insectes peuvent façonner les variations adaptatives de l'odeur florale. Nous utilisons Arum maculatum, qui sont déceptivement pollinisés par plusieurs espèces de mouches Psychodidés pour notre modèle de recherche. Mes investigations portent sur le lien entre les polymorphismes génétiques d'Arum maculatum et les phénotypes importants (p. ex. l'odeur), et leurs effets ultimes sur le fitness des plantes. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, nous combinons des outils et des techniques en:

  • Écologie chimique
  • Écologie moléculaire
  • Phylogénomique.

Finalement, nous espérons que cette recherche permettra de mieux comprendre l'adaptation locale, différenciation écologique et génétique, et la spéciation dans les systèmes de pollinisation déceptive.

Enseignement

  • From genes to ecosystems.

Publications

Szenteczki M, Pitteloud C, Casacci LP, Kešnerová L, Whitaker MRL, Engel P, Vila R, & Alvarez N. (2019) Bacterial communities within Phengaris (Maculineaalcon caterpillars are shifted following transition from solitary living to social parasitism of Myrmica ant colonies. Ecology and Evolution 9:4452–4464. PDF

arum.png

Mark Szenteczki

mark.szenteczki@unine.ch

D219

+ 41 32 718 23 16