Fermer

Xiang-Yi Li

Xiang-Yi Li2018-photo.jpg

SNSF Ambizione fellow

Introduction of personal research interests

 

I am interested in applying mathematical modelling and computer simulations to study ecological and evolutionary dynamics. I have rewarding experience working together with microbiologists on projects that combine experiments and modelling. For example, in collaboration with the Bosch lab in Kiel University, Germany, we modelled the growth dynamics of two bacteria in co-culture in the form of an evolutionary game, and confirmed experimentally the frequency-dependent bacterial growth rates predicted by the model (Li et al, 2015).  We further clarified the mechanisms of the interesting dynamics and showed that it was caused by the coupling of the lysogenic and lytic life cycles of a bacteriophage (Li et al, 2017). In collaboration with food scientists in the Meng lab in Ocean University of China, we micro-encapsulated the probiotic bacteria Lactobacillus bulgaricus with the whey protein (milk whey is also the main ingredient of the famous Swiss drink Rivella) and coated with alginate so that the bacteria can safely pass through the upper gastrointestinal tract despite of the harsh environments with gastric juice and bile solution, until they are released in the small intestine (Chen et al, 2017). Currently, my PhD student Thierry Kuhn and I are collaborating with the lab of Prof. Pilar Junier in University of Neuchâtel. We use computer simulation and experiments to study the interactions between bacteria and fungi and how those interactions affect bacteria dispersal across the fungal hyphae networks. We are interested in the role of different nutrients and their effect on bacteria-fungi interactions. We aim to accurately predict the dispersal pattern of bacteria on the “fungal highway”, and develop strategies to control and manipulate bacterial dispersal taking advantage of the interactions.

 

My other research interests include modelling sexual selection and sexual conflict, evolutionary game theory, and dispersal. For more information, please visit my research website: http://web.evolbio.mpg.de/~li/

 

References

  • Xiang-Yi Li, Cleo Pietschke, Sebastian Fraune, Philipp M. Altrock, Thomas C. G. Bosch, and Arne Traulsen*. Which games are growing bacterial populations playing? Journal of The Royal Society Interface, 12:108, 2015.

 

  • Xiang-Yi Li, Tim Lachnit, Sebastian Fraune, Thomas CG Bosch, Arne Traulsen, and Michael Sieber*. Temperate phages as self-replicating weapons in bacterial competition. Journal of The Royal Society Interface,14: 20170563, 2017.

 

  • Hai-Yan Chen, Xiang-Yi Li, Bing-Jie Liu, and Xiang-Hong Meng*. Microencapsulation of lactobacillus bulgaricus and survival assays under simulated gastrointestinal conditions. Journal of Functional Foods, 29: 248–255, 2017.

 

 

CV: http://web.evolbio.mpg.de/~li/curriculum-vitae.html

 

Publication list with links to full text: http://web.evolbio.mpg.de/~li/publications-and-conference.html

Fermer

Xiang-Yi Li

Xiang-Yi Li2018-photo.jpg

Boursière Ambizione (FNS)

Introduction à mes intérêts de recherche

 

Je suis intéressé par l'application de modèles mathématiques et de simulations informatiques pour étudier les dynamiques écologiques et évolutives. J'ai acquis une expérience enrichissante en travaillant avec des microbiologistes sur des projets combinant des expériences et de la modélisation. Par exemple, en collaboration avec le laboratoire Bosch de l’Université de Kiel en Allemagne, nous avons modélisé la dynamique de croissance de deux bactéries en co-culture sous la forme d’un jeu évolutif et confirmé expérimentalement les taux de croissance bactériens dépendants de la fréquence prédits par le modèle ( Li et al, 2015). Nous avons ensuite clarifié les mécanismes de cette dynamique intéressante et montré que celle-ci était due au couplage des cycles de vie lysogénique et lytique d'un bactériophage (Li et al, 2017). En collaboration avec des scientifiques de l'alimentation du laboratoire Meng de l'Université Ocean de Chine, nous avons micro-encapsulé la bactérie probiotique Lactobacillus bulgaricus avec la protéine de lactosérum (le lactosérum est également l'ingrédient principal de la célèbre boisson suisse Rivella) et l'avons recouvert d'alginate. les bactéries peuvent passer en toute sécurité dans le tractus gastro-intestinal supérieur en dépit des environnements difficiles avec le suc gastrique et la solution biliaire, jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient libérées dans l'intestin grêle (Chen et al, 2017). Actuellement, Thierry Kuhn, mon doctorant et moi-même collaborons avec le laboratoire de la professeure Pilar Junier de l’Université de Neuchâtel. Nous utilisons des simulations sur ordinateur et des expériences pour étudier les interactions entre bactéries et champignons et leur incidence sur la dispersion des bactéries dans les réseaux de hyphes fongiques. Nous nous intéressons au rôle de différents nutriments ainsi que leurs effets sur les interactions bactéries-champignons. Notre objectif est de prédire avec précision le modèle de dispersion des bactéries sur les «autoroutes fongiques» et de développer des stratégies pour contrôler et manipuler la dispersion bactérienne en tirant parti des interactions.

 

Mes autres domaines de recherche sont la modélisation de la sélection sexuelle et des conflits sexuels, la théorie des jeux évolutive et la dispersion. Pour plus d'informations, n'hésitez pas à visiter mon site de recherche: http://web.evolbio.mpg.de/~li/

 

Reférences

  • Xiang-Yi Li, Cleo Pietschke, Sebastian Fraune, Philipp M. Altrock, Thomas C. G. Bosch, and Arne Traulsen*. Which games are growing bacterial populations playing? Journal of The Royal Society Interface, 12:108, 2015.

 

  • Xiang-Yi Li, Tim Lachnit, Sebastian Fraune, Thomas CG Bosch, Arne Traulsen, and Michael Sieber*. Temperate phages as self-replicating weapons in bacterial competition. Journal of The Royal Society Interface,14: 20170563, 2017.

 

  • Hai-Yan Chen, Xiang-Yi Li, Bing-Jie Liu, and Xiang-Hong Meng*. Microencapsulation of lactobacillus bulgaricus and survival assays under simulated gastrointestinal conditions. Journal of Functional Foods, 29: 248–255, 2017.

 

 

CV: http://web.evolbio.mpg.de/~li/curriculum-vitae.html

 

Liste de publication avec des liens vers le texte intégral: http://web.evolbio.mpg.de/~li/publications-and-conference.html