Fermer

Andrea Lohberger

Lohberger_Andrea_square.jpg

PhD student

Office A225


Phone: +41 32 718 22 64

14.png

 

Scientific Interest

In general, I am interested in bacterial-fungal interactions in soil. Part of my PhD project is focusing on the genus Morchella and especially on the species Morchella crassipes, a saprophytic and ectomycorrhizal soil fungus. Apart from their important role in human nourishment as edible fungi, Morels exchange nutrients with plants and play a key role in the overall nutrient cycle. Therefore we try to unravel the role of Morels on the carbon and nitrogen cycle. Another topic focuses on fungi as a holobiont, with bacteria closely attached or living inside fungi as endofungal bacteria.
With these studies, our aim is to unveil step by step this fine tuned network of bacteria and fungi to better understand ongoing nutrient exchange of microorganisms and plants in soil.

 

Academic curriculum vitae

 

June 2015 – today


PhD thesis in Life Science focusing on the bacteria fungal interactions in soil and their role in nutrient cycling in the Laboratory of Microbiology at the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland under the supervision of Professor Pilar Junier, Dr. Saskia Bindschedler and Professor Eric Verrechia (Institute of Earth Surface Dynamics at the Faculty of Geoscience and Environment, University of Lausanne, Switzerland).

 

Mai 2014 – Mai 2015


Associated scientific research on Morchella crassipes and their behavior in contact with Pseudomonas putida at the Faculty of Geoscience and Environment at the Institute Earth Surface Dynamics at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland under the supervision of Professor Eric Verrecchia in co-operation with the Laboratory of Microbiology (Group Pilar Junier) in the Institute of Biology at the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

March 2010 – July 2013


PhD thesis about the link between pathogenesis and mutations in transcription factors of genes responsible for azole resistance of Candida albicans in the Laboratory of Mycology, Institute of Microbiology at the Central Hospital of the Canton Vaud (CHUV) in co-operation with the University of Lausanne, Switzerland) under the supervision of Professor Dominique Sanglard and Dr. Alix Cost.

 

2002 – December 2009


Diploma of Biologie (equivalent to Bachelor and Master), with focus on microbiologie, biochemestry and molecular biology at the Institute of Microbiology and Biotechnology at the Friedrich-Wilhelms-University of Bonn, Germany. The master thesis focused on the overexpression of a compatible solute N epsilon-acetyl-beta-lysine of a halophilic, methanogenic archaebacterium in E. coli.

Fermer

Andrea Lohberger

Lohberger_Andrea_square.jpg

Assistante-doctorante

Bureau A225


Tel: +41 32 718 22 64

14.png

 

Intérêts en recherche

De manière générale, je m'intéresse aux interactions bactéries-champignons dans le sol. Une partie de mon projet de thèse porte sur le genre Morchella et en particulier sur l'espèce Morchella crassipes, un champignon saprophyte et ectomycorhizien du sol. Outre leur rôle important dans la nutrition humaine en tant que champignons comestibles, les morilles échangent des nutriments avec les plantes et jouent un rôle clé dans le cycle global des nutriments. Par conséquent, nous essayons de démêler le rôle des morilles sur le cycle du carbone et de l'azote. Un autre sujet se concentre sur les champignons en tant qu'holobionte, avec des bactéries étroitement liées ou vivant à l'intérieur des champignons en tant que bactéries endofongiques.
Avec ces études, notre objectif est de dévoiler pas à pas ce réseau finement réglé de bactéries et de champignons pour mieux comprendre les échanges de nutriments en cours des micro-organismes et des plantes dans le sol.

 

Curriculum vitae académique

 

Juin 2015 – présent


Thèse de doctorat en sciences de la vie portant sur les interactions bactéries-champignons dans le sol et leur rôle dans le cycle des nutriments au laboratoire de microbiologie de l'Université de Neuchâtel, en Suisse, sous la direction du professeur Pilar Junier, du Dr Saskia Bindschedler et du professeur Eric Verrechia (Institute of Earth Surface Dynamics à la Faculté des géosciences et de l'environnement, Université de Lausanne, Suisse).

 

Mai 2014 – Mai 2015


Collaboratrice scietifique travaillant sur Morchella crassipes et leur comportement au contact de Pseudomonas putida à la Faculté des géosciences et de l'environnement de l'Institut Earth Surface Dynamics de l'Université de Lausanne, Suisse sous la direction du professeur Eric Verrecchia en coopération avec le Laboratoire de microbiologie (Groupe Pilar Junier) à l'Institut de biologie de l'Université de Neuchâtel, Suisse

 

Mars 2010 – Juillet 2013


Thèse de doctorat sur le lien entre la pathogenèse et les mutations des facteurs de transcription des gènes responsables de la résistance à l'azole de Candida albicans au Laboratoire de Mycologie, Institut de Microbiologie de l'Hôpital Central du Canton de Vaud (CHUV) en coopération avec l'Université de Lausanne, Suisse) sous la direction du professeur Dominique Sanglard et du Dr Alix Cost.

 

2002 – Decembre 2009


Diplôme de biologie (équivalent au baccalauréat et à la maîtrise), avec spécialisation en microbiologie, biochimie et biologie moléculaire à l'Institut de microbiologie et de biotechnologie de l'Université Friedrich-Wilhelms de Bonn, Allemagne. La thèse de maîtrise portait sur la surexpression d'un soluté compatible N epsilon-acétyl-bêta-lysine d'une archaebactérie halophile et méthanogène chez E. coli.