Master in Innovation

MA-innovation-bandeau.jpg

General description

At the heart of one of Switzerland’s most innovative regions with an internationally competitive economy based on high precision industry, Neuchâtel is the ideal place to study innovation. Leaving aside the technological aspects, the rapid expansion of industry 4.0 and its effect on humans can only be understood in its legal, economic and social contexts. What makes an environment favourable for innovation? What are the roles of the State and the individual? What are the social implications of innovation? How can we balance it with economic development and infrastructure? How can we tackle the profound changes it has caused? All these questions will be at the heart of this Master’s curriculum.

Key points

This cross-disciplinary Master’s programme develops tools and basic theories in R&D and innovation, enhancing students’ understanding of current issues. On graduating, students will understand the socio-economic, political, legal and technological contexts in which innovations emerge and develop. They will be able to apply and develop these skills in both private and public sectors, as well as advise companies on innovation processes, management, organization and protection.

These skills are valued not only by companies in which innovation plays a central role, but also by more traditional companies facing innovative competition. This Master’s degree leads to employment opportunities not only in the private sector, but also in public service, be it cantonal or federal, as well as in the parapublic sector (business incubators, etc).

The legal specialization enables graduates to work as legal counsel. The humanities and economic specializations open the door to employment opportunities like innovation project leader, consultant or developer (project manager, innovation manager, independent consultant).

R& D Management specialization (economics)

Teachings planned in the R&D Management specialization aim at providing students the conceptual and methodological bases to understand and manage the process of research and development within organizations. They cover domains mobilized by the R&D function and the innovation process, such as financial management, diversity management, intellectual property laws. Teachings also cover certain methods and relevant tools to work in the field of R&D management such as negotiation, decision-making analysis or data mining. Finally, they include certain bases to understand economy of innovation and related policies.

This specialization addresses holders of a Bachelor degree in economic sciences, a Bachelor degree in science option “naturel systems” or any other title considered equivalent.

Prospects

Holders of a Master in Innovation, R&D Management specialization, will find job opportunities as leaders, support operators or facilitators of innovation projects (in particular project manager, innovation manager, independent consultant) within or in the service of companies, organizations or administrations involved in the development, the promotion and the valuation of innovation projects.

Curriculum

The curriculum will comprise of a refresher courses for students from all faculties and a common core syllabus, completed by three specializations:

  • R&D management
  • Innovation law
  • Innovation and society

The final components of the curriculum are cross-disciplinary options in different faculties, and the choice between a Master’s thesis and a work placement.

Video report

 

Innovation: Master 4.0

Across disciplines form humanities to economy, law and sciences

This programme will be offered from September 2017.
The curriculum is still subject to change.

 

Master in Innovation information sheet

Teaching language

Academic head

R&D Management specialization

Mehdi Farsi
Full professor
Institute of economic research
mehdi.farsi@unine.ch

Administrative head

Anais Rossi
Collaborator
Chaire de droit civil et de la santé
anais.rossi@unine.ch

Employment prospects

Company legal advisor, business incubators, project management, innovation management, independent consultant, cantonal and federal public sector jobs relating to the economy, education or intellectual property.

Master en innovation

MA-innovation-bandeau.jpg

Description

Au cœur d’une des régions les plus innovantes de Suisse, doté d’une économie tournée vers les savoirs de haute précision et habituée à la concurrence internationale, Neuchâtel est un cadre hors du commun pour l’étude de l’innovation. Outre les aspects technologiques, l’essor de l’industrie 4.0 et son impact social nécessitent une compréhension du contexte juridique, économique et social dans lequel l’innovation peut s’inscrire : Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un environnement est propice à l’innovation ? Quel est le rôle de l’État et de l’individu ? Quelles sont les implications sociétales de l’innovation ? Comment la concilier avec le développement économique et les infrastructures ? Comment affronter les profondes mutations engendrées ? Autant de questions qui forment le cœur de l’enseignement dispensé dans ce master.

Points forts

Ce master interfacultaire permet d’acquérir des outils et théories de base en R&D et en innovation pour une meilleure compréhension des enjeux contemporains. À l’issue de la formation, les étudiants seront capables de comprendre les contextes socio-économique, politique, juridique et technologique dans lesquels les innovations émergent et se développent. Ils pourront intégrer et valoriser  ces connaissances au sein d’entreprises ou d’administrations publiques, et être en mesure de conseiller des entreprises en matière de processus, de management, d’organisation et de protection de l’innovation.

Les compétences acquises sont recherchées non seulement par les entreprises pour lesquelles l’innovation joue un rôle central, mais aussi par les entreprises plus traditionnelles qui font face à une concurrence innovante. Le master offre par ailleurs des débouchés dans le secteur privé, dans les administrations publiques cantonales ou fédérale, ainsi que vers le secteur parapublic (incubateurs d’entreprises,…).

L’orientation en droit permet de se diriger vers le conseil juridique. Les orientations en sciences sociales et en sciences économiques permettent de trouver des débouchés professionnels en tant que porteurs, accompagnateurs ou facilitateurs de projets d’innovation (project manager, innovation manager, consultant indépendant).

Orientation Management de la R&D (sciences économiques)

L’orientation Management de la R&D du Master en innovation vise à faire acquérir aux étudiants les bases conceptuelles et méthodologiques pour comprendre et gérer le processus de recherche et développement au sein des organisations. Ils couvrent les domaines mobilisés par la fonction R&D et le processus d’innovation, tels que la gestion financière, la gestion de la diversité, le droit de la propriété intellectuelle. Les enseignements couvrent également certaines méthodes et outils pertinents en vue de travailler dans le domaine du management de la R&D, tels que la négociation, l’analyse décisionnelle ou le data mining. Finalement, ils incluent certaines bases en vue de comprendre l’économie de l’innovation et les politiques afférentes.

Cette orientation s’adresse à tout titulaire d’un Bachelor en sciences économiques, d’un Bachelor en sciences option « systèmes naturels », ou de tout autre titre jugé équivalent.

Débouchés

Les titulaires d’un Master en innovation orientation Management de la R&D trouveront des débouchés professionnels en tant que porteurs, accompagnateurs ou facilitateurs de projets d’innovation (notamment project manager, innovation manager, consultant indépendant) au sein ou au service d’entreprises, d’organisations ou d’administrations impliquées dans le développement, la promotion et la valorisation de projets d’innovation.

Plan d'études

Le plan d’études prévoit une mise à niveau et un tronc commun de base, suivis de trois orientations :

  • Management de la R&D
  • Droit de l’innovation
  • Innovation et sociétés

Il est complété par des options interfacultaires et un mémoire de master ou un stage en milieu professionnel.

Innovation : Master 4.0

Au carrefour des sciences humaines, de l'économie, du droit et des sciences

Ce master sera offert à partir du semestre d'automne 2017.
Le plan d'études est encore sujet à modifications.

 

Brochure du Master en innovation

 

Langue d'enseignement

Responsable académique

Orientation Management de la R&D

Mehdi Farsi
Professeur ordinaire
Institut de recherches économiques
mehdi.farsi@unine.ch

Responsable administrative

Anais Rossi
Collaboratrice
Chaire de droit civil et de la santé
anais.rossi@unine.ch

Perspectives professionnelles

Conseil juridique en entreprise, incubateurs d’entreprises, project management, innovation management, consulting indépendant, administrations cantonales et fédérales en charge de l’économie, de la formation ou de la propriété intellectuelle.

Document