Bachelor of Science in Economics and Business

Presentation

The Bachelor of Science in Economics and Business lasts three years. The first two years form a common core during which students receive a basic multi-skilling training. The last year, five orientations are proposed:

  • Economics

    Economics consists in a group of rigorous theoretical and empirical investigative methods which, once mastered, lead to a deeper understanding of economy and which help to react appropriately to events. Not only does it help to apprehend matters such as unemployment, inflation, budget deficit, trade imbalance, income inequalities, or environmental degradation, but also to make decisions with full knowledge of the facts.

  • Information Systems

    The study of information systems aims at optimising the use of IT resources available to economic actors. On the basis of the latest technologies, it is a means for future managers to identify the relevant problems and to develop appropriate IT solutions. This study option prepares managers of the future to respond to the challenges of the information society.

  • Accounting/Finance

    Accounting aims at building and introducing the measuring instruments of cash flows which are necessary to the management of firms and, more broadly, of public as well as private institutions. Accounting helps the various stakeholders of a company (shareholders, managers, employees, customers, suppliers) to form an opinion on the financial health and performance and to make informed decisions. It provides the information necessary to finance, whose primary objective is to ensure the efficient management of the resources made available and, possibly, to collect new resources so as to ensure the balanced growth of the company.

  • Management

    Management deals with the organizational, managerial and management techniques of firms in order for the latter to achieve their goals. In other words, it analyses firstly general concepts related to firms (business management, risk management, financing, accounting, production, sales, technological innovation, ...) and, secondly, it deals with the particular nature of services and the industry.

  • Human Ressources

    Knowledge economy is increasingly giving a considerable place to the human factor within firms. The Human Resources Management orientation studies the various activities carried out within the position “Human Resources Management” (HRM) of an organization. The teachings provided aim to enable the mastering of the particular tools of HRM encouraging individual and collective development. From this perspective, themes such as the working culture, industrial relations, labour law, ethics in enterprises, discrimination, competences and performances evaluation, ergonomics and health at work are studied in detail.

Structure of the programme (180 ECTS)

Common Core (120 ECTS)
1st year   2nd year

Economics
Management
Mathematics
Statistics/Computer Science
History/Law

  Economics
Management
Finance/Accounting
Statistics/Computer Science
3rd year (60 ECTS)
Economic politicy Information Systems Accounting/Finance Management Human Ressources
Quantitative Economics
Essentials
Applications
Data Management
Economics and Management
Modelling
Accounting
Finance/Economics
Statistics/Computer Science
Strategy
Marketing
Operations
Leadership
Human capital management
Law
Electives - choice of 24 ECTS: other orientation courses, thesis and internship

HEP additional training

Bachelor en sciences économiques

Présentation

Le Bachelor en sciences économiques dure trois ans. Les deux premières années constituent un tronc commun au cours duquel les étudiants bénéficient d’une formation de base pluridisciplinaire. En dernière année, cinq orientations sont proposées :

  • Economie politique

    L’économie politique consiste en un ensemble de méthodes rigoureuses d’investigation théorique et empirique permettant d’améliorer la connaissance de la vie économique et de réagir face aux événements. Elle permet non seulement d’appréhender des phénomènes tels que le chômage, l’inflation, le déficit budgétaire, le déséquilibre commercial, la globalisation, les inégalités de revenus, ou la dégradation de l’environnement, mais aussi de prendre des décisions en toute connaissance de cause.

  • Systèmes d'information

    L’étude des systèmes d’information a pour but d’optimiser l’utilisation des ressources informatiques à disposition des acteurs économiques. Sur la base des technologies les plus récentes, elle permet au futur manager d’identifier les problèmes pertinents et de développer les solutions informatiques adéquates. Cette orientation prépare les managers de demain à répondre aux défis posés par la société de l’information.

  • Comptabilité/finance

    La comptabilité vise à construire et à mettre en place les instruments de mesure des flux financiers nécessaires au pilotage des entreprises et, plus largement, des institutions publiques comme privées. La comptabilité aide les différentes parties prenantes de l’entreprise (actionnaires, dirigeants, salariés, clients, fournisseurs) à se forger une opinion sur la santé et les performances financières et à prendre des décisions éclairées. Elle fournit les éléments d’information nécessaires à la finance dont l’objectif premier est d’assurer une gestion efficiente des ressources mises à disposition et, éventuellement, de collecter de nouvelles ressources afin d’assurer une croissance équilibrée de l’entreprise.

  • Management

    Le management étudie les techniques d’organisation, de direction et de gestion de l’entreprise pour que cette dernière atteigne ses objectifs. En d’autres termes, il analyse, d’une part, des concepts généraux ayant trait aux entreprises (gestion de l’entreprise, gestion des risques, financement, comptabilité, production, vente, innovation technologique…) et, d’autre part, il s’intéresse aux particularités de certains domaines des services et de l’industrie.

  • Ressources humaines

    L’économie de la connaissance accorde une place de plus en plus marquée au facteur humain au sein des entreprises. L’orientation Management des Ressources Humaines étudie les différentes activités menées au sein de la fonction "Gestion des Ressources Humaines" (GRH) d’une organisation. Les enseignements dispensés ont pour but de permettre la  maîtrise des instruments propres à la GRH favorisant le développement individuel et collectif. Dans cette optique, on étudie de manière approfondie des thèmes comme la culture du travail, les relations industrielles, la législation du travail,  l’éthique des entreprises, les discriminations, l’évaluation des compétences et des performances, l’ergonomie ainsi que la santé au travail.

Structure de la formation (180 ECTS)

Tronc commun (120 ECTS)
1ère année   2e année

Economie
Gestion
Mathématiques
Statistiques/Informatique
Histoire/Droit

  Economie
Management
Finance/Comptabilité
Statistique/Informatique
3e année (60 ECTS)
Economie politique Systèmes d'information Comptabilité/Finance Management Ressources humaines
Economie quantitative
Fondamentaux
Applications
Gestion des données
Economie et gestion
Modélisation
Comptabilité
Finance/Economie
Statistique/
Informatique
Stratégie
Marketing
Opérations
Direction
Gestion du capital humain
Droit
Options - 24 ECTS à choix : cours autres orientations, mémoire et stage en entreprise

Compléments HEP