Fermer

Nadia Rytz

Master in Biology

Field of research

I am an MSc student in Biology at the University of Neuchâtel, in the functional ecology laboratory (LEF). After completing a Bsc in biology and ethnology at the same university, I decided to continue on the interdisciplinary path and to focus my studies on sustainable agriculture (and more generally the sustainability of ecosystems, whether managed by humans or not). Because of my great curiosity and my attraction for complex thought, I no longer count my interests. This interdisciplinary specialization in sustainable agriculture allows me to be as interested in natural systems, living beings and their functioning as in human systems and social issues revolving around sustainability.

I particularly like to be interested in the soil. If this material has long seemed to us to be only a support for living things and our activities, it has turned out to be an ecosystem in its own right, one of the most essential to life. In a dynamic exchange, the soil communities, at first sight invisible, perform many ecosystem services such as the degradation of organic matter and the redistribution of nutrients, essential for plant growth. In a context of global warming but also of sealing, pollution, soil desertification and therefore loss of biodiversity, it is very important to look into their preservation and increase our understanding of their functioning.

We know today that biodiversity increases the resilience of ecosystems and helps to overcome extreme environmental changes. The loss of this biodiversity is therefore an essential problem for the sustainability of ecosystems and their functioning. The same is true in the soil. By playing a central role in the decomposition of organic matter, the activity of soil organisms regulates the availability of assimilable carbon for plants and then determines plant (and therefore animal) diversity on the surface.

As part of my master's work, I joined the thesis project by Sarah Semeraro - the Swiss Mountain Soil Ecology Project - which seeks, among other things, to understand what is the relative contribution of different soil communities to the formation of humus and the functioning of the ecosystem along an altitude gradient. This information is very important, in particular to try to predict what the future of these soils could be, in a context of climate change, due to global warming.

Main themes

  • Altitudinal gradients
  • Arthropods
  • Humus forms
  • Functional ecology
  • Pedology and pedogenesis

Nadia Rytz

nadia.rytz@unine.ch

D221

+41 32 718 23 18

Fermer

Nadia Rytz

Master en Biologie

Domaine de recherche

Je suis étudiante en Master de Biologie à l'Université de Neuchâtel, au laboratoire d'écologie fonctionnelle (LEF). Après avoir complété un Bsc en biologie et ethnologie à la même université, j'ai décidé de continuer sur la voie interdisciplinaire et d'orienter mes études vers l'agriculture durable (et plus généralement la durabilité des écosystèmes, qu'ils soient gérés par l'homme ou non). Du fait de ma grande curiosité et de mon attirance pour la pensée complexe, je ne compte plus mes intérêts. Cette spécialisation interdisciplinaire en agriculture durable me permet de m'intéresser autant aux systèmes naturels, aux êtres vivants et à leur fonctionnement qu'aux systèmes humains et aux enjeux sociaux tournant autour de la durabilité.

J'aime particulièrement m'intéresser au sol. Si cette matière nous a longtemps semblé n'être qu'un support pour le vivant et nos activités, elle s'est révélée être un écosystème à part entière, l'un des plus essentiels à la vie. Dans un échange dynamique, les communautés du sol, à première vue invisibles, rendent de nombreux services écosystémiques tels que la dégradation de la matière organique et la redistribution des nutriments, essentiels à la croissance des plantes. Dans un contexte de réchauffement climatique mais aussi d'étanchéité, de pollution, de désertification des sols et donc de perte de biodiversité, il est très important de se pencher sur leur préservation et de mieux comprendre leur fonctionnement.

Nous savons aujourd'hui que la biodiversité augmente la résilience des écosystèmes et aide à surmonter les changements environnementaux extrêmes. La perte de cette biodiversité est donc un problème essentiel pour la pérennité des écosystèmes et leur fonctionnement. Il en est de même dans le sol. En jouant un rôle central dans la décomposition de la matière organique, l'activité des organismes du sol régule la disponibilité du carbone assimilable pour les plantes puis détermine la diversité végétale (et donc animale) en surface.

Dans le cadre de mon travail de master, j'ai rejoint le projet de thèse de Sarah Semeraro - le Swiss Mountain Soil Ecology Project - qui cherche, entre autres, à comprendre quelle est la contribution relative des différentes communautés du sol à la formation de l'humus et au fonctionnement des l'écosystème le long d'un gradient d'altitude. Ces informations sont très importantes, notamment pour tenter de prédire ce que pourrait être l'avenir de ces sols, dans un contexte de changement climatique, dû au réchauffement climatique.

Thématiques principales

  • Gradients altitudinaux
  • Arthropodes
  • Formes d'humus
  • Écologie fonctionnelle
  • Pédologie et pédogenèse

Nadia Rytz

nadia.rytz@unine.ch

D221

+41 32 718 23 18