Fermer

HELIX (PREV. BIOPATINAS)

Cleaning of metallic artworks using eco-friendly gels amended with microorganisms.

The HELIX project, developed at the Haute Ecole Arc Conservation-Restauration, in collaboration with the University of Neuchâtel, the University of Bologna and Arc’ Antique conservation and research laboratory, aims to develop green formulations to clean altered and tarnished surfaces from copper, iron and silver artworks. The goal is to propose a sustainable method that is conscious of the challenges in the conservation field, while limiting the risks for the artwork itself, the operator and the environment.           

While exploiting the ability of some microorganisms (fungi, bacteria) and green solvents as well as the assets of the use of gels in the field of conservation, corrosion products and/or old and defective organic coatings will be removed from tarnished metallic surfaces. Mechanisms and performances induced by the microorganisms will be evaluated for their ability to remove corrosion and/or organic coatings from previous intervention. When possible, only metabolites extracted from microorganisms will be used in order to avoid the manipulation of living cells by end-users. This project gives birth to two PhD thesis, focused respectively on the use of hydrogels and bio-based organogels.  

Microorganisms will be selected and incorporated into hydrogels, derived from biological sources (agar from seaweed, Gellan gum from bacteria). In parallel, non-aqueous solvents (e.g. Deep Eutectic solvents – DES) and green thickening agents (e.g. poly β-hydroxybutyrate – PHB) will be chosen and employed to prepare bio-based organogels. The stability, the texture and the application of such formulations as well as relative removal methods will be studied. Then, gels efficiency will be assessed on metal coupons prepared preliminarily. The performances of our new gels will be compared to commonly used methods in conservation, such as gels containing chemical chelating agents (e.g. EDTA) or mechanical methods. Mock-ups will be analysed before and after ageing treatments, thanks to various analytical techniques (SEM-EDS, FTIR and Raman spectroscopy, gas chromatography, XRD etc.).

Finally, selected gels will be tested on real artworks, representative of targeted degradation features, in close interaction with conservators-restorers.


This project is supervised by Prof. Edith Joseph (Haute Ecole Arc Conservation-Restauration and Laboratory of Technologies for Heritage Materials, University of Neuchâtel), Prof. Stephan von Reuss (Laboratory of Bioanalytic Chemistry, University of Neuchâtel) and Dr. Elodie Guilminot (Laboratoire Arc’ Antique, Nantes, France) for the thesis on hydrogels and Dr. Giorgia Sciutto (University of Bologna, Italy) for the one related to organogels.

 

Contact

Edith Joseph, assistant professor

 

Monica Albini, PhD

 

Lidia Mathys-Paganuzzi, lab technician

 

Coralie Montavon, master student

Fermer

HELIX (ANCIEN. BIOPATINAS)

Nettoyage d’œuvres métalliques à l’aide de gels contenant des bactéries ou des champignons


Le projet HELIX développé au sein de la Haute Ecole Arc-Conservation Restauration, en collaboration avec l’Université de Neuchâtel, l’Université de Bologne et le Laboratoire Arc’ Antique, vise à proposer des formulations vertes pour nettoyer les surfaces altérées d’objets en cuivre, fer ou argent, dans les collections historiques des musées et dans l’art contemporain. L’objectif est de proposer une méthode durable et consciencieuse des challenges de la conservation-restauration tout en limitant les risques pour l’œuvre, l’opérateur et l’environnement.

En exploitant les capacités de certains microorganismes (bactéries, champignons) et solvants verts ainsi que les avantages de l’utilisation des gels dans le domaine de la conservation, les produits de dégradation /ou les revêtements organiques vieillis et défectueux seront retirés des surfaces métalliques altérées par le temps. Les mécanismes et les performances dont font preuve différents microbes seront évalués pour leur capacité à éliminer la corrosion et/ou des revêtements organiques vieillis et défectueux issus d’interventions de restauration précédentes. Si possible, seuls les métabolites issus des microorganismes seront utilisés afin d’éviter aux opérateurs la manipulation de cellules vivantes.  Ce projet donne lieu à deux sujets de thèse centrés sur l’utilisation d‘hydrogels d’une part et d’organogels biosourcés d’autre part.

Ainsi, des microorganismes seront sélectionnés et intégrés dans des hydrogels naturels (agar issue d’algues, gomme gellane issue de bactéries). En parallèle, des solvants non aqueux (p. ex. solvants eutectiques profonds – DES) et des agents épaississants (p. ex. poly β-hydroxybutyrate – PHB) verts seront sélectionnés et utilisés pour préparer des organogels biosourcés.  La stabilité des gels contenant les métabolites ou microorganismes et des nouvelles formulations, leur texture ainsi que les méthodes d’application et de retrait seront étudiées. Ensuite, l’efficacité des gels élaborés sera évaluée sur des coupons préparés et corrodés au préalable. Les performances des gels créés seront comparées à plusieurs méthodes traditionnellement utilisées en conservation-restauration comme les gels contenant des complexants chimiques (ex. EDTA) ou des méthodes mécaniques… Les coupons seront caractérisés avant et après les différents traitements grâce à différentes méthodes d’analyse (SEM-EDS, Raman, GC, FTIR, XRD etc.)

Enfin, en interaction avec des conservateur-restaurateurs, les gels choisis seront testés sur des œuvres présentant les dégradations visées par les méthodes de nettoyage développées.


Les directeurs et codirecteurs de thèse sont Prof. Edith Joseph (Haute Ecole Arc Conservation Restauration et Laboratoire des technologies pour les matériaux du patrimoine, Université de Neuchâtel), Prof. Stephan von Reuss (Laboratoire de chimie bioanalytique, Université de Neuchâtel) et Dr. Elodie Guilminot (Laboratoire Arc’ Antique, Nantes) pour la thèse sur les hydrogels et Dr. Giorgia Sciutto (Université de Bologne, Italie) pour la thèse sur les organogels.

Contacts

Edith Joseph, professeure assistante

 

Lidia Mathys-Paganuzzi, laborantine

 

Luana Cuvillier, doctorante/PhD student

 

Arianna Passaretti, doctorante/PhD student